Rock buns recipe

When the weather’s dreich (grey and damp) there’s nothing quite like a bit of baking to warm you up. It was a dreich old day in my neck of the woods yesterday and it seemed to me rock buns were called for.

plate of rock buns

Here’s my recipe for making them. You can use any combination of dried fruits, or indeed swap the fruit for something else. Replacing the fruit with coconut, for example, creates a chewier texture and gives your jaws a good workout. Alternatively you could try nuts, seeds or chocolate chips.

Rock Buns

8 oz self-raising flour
1 heaped teaspoon baking powder

2 oz sugar
2 oz margarine
1 oz currants
2 oz raisins
1½ oz chopped mixed peel
1 egg
about 3 tablespoons milk (enough to make a damp, sticky dough)

1.  Mix flour, baking powder and sugar in a bowl.
2.  Rub in margarine.
3.  Mix in dried fruit.
4.  Mix to a stiff dough with egg and milk.
5.  Place in rough heaps on a baking sheet.
6.  Bake at 190C (170C fan) for 15-20 minutes.

These rock buns freeze well, and if you can’t eat them all at once they’ll stay tasty for several days in an airtight box.

Serving suggestion: devour fresh from the oven with a nice cup of tea.

rock buns on plate

24 Comments

    1. They are indeed very similar. I’d say the main difference between scones and rock buns is the moistness of the dough. You couldn’t cut these out with a scone cutter because the dough is so wet it would just stick to the cutter. Dropping it onto a baking tray in blobs with a spoon is the ideal way of dealing with it. Another interesting point is that once they’re cooked, rock buns are far more predictable, texture-wise, than scones. I hesitate to use the phrase ‘fail-me-never’ but it’s certainly true in my experience that rock buns come out consistently well whereas each batch of scones likes to assert its individuality.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Chloe. You could certainly substitute non-dairy milk for the cow’s milk. You could even miss out the egg and add in extra milk instead, and I think they’d be fine (although they might not keep so well without the egg).

      Liked by 1 person

  1. They look delicious, Lorna! Thank you for the recipe – I will try them. They remind me of my old gran’s recipe which she always called ‘rubbed up cake’. I still make it and it never fails.

    Like

    1. It is a very descriptive word, dreich. Perhaps you could make a point of dropping some Scottish words into conversation until the locals pick them up. I’m sure “mingin'” is a Scottish word because I used to use it at school 30 years ago. I was surprised when I heard it being used amongst the English a few years ago as if it was a brand new word they’d thought up.

      Like

      1. I occasionally drop in Scottish words, I must up my efforts though. ‘Minging’ is a word I remember from more than 30 years ago although it is not one I would have used particularly. They say there is nothing new under the sun… 🙂
        One of my favourite words is ‘fankle’ – I think I will use it more often!

        Like

        1. That’s one of my favourites, too. Things don’t seem so bad when you think you’re in a right fankle, rather than a mess. Stooshie’s another handy one.

          Like

Have your say

