Sunny South Inch

The Scottish city of Perth has two main parks, the North Inch and the South Inch (‘inch’ comes from the Gaelic word innis meaning ‘meadow’).

Both are large, low-lying areas within easy walking distance of the city centre.

North edge of South Inch
The northern edge of South Inch with the square tower and crown spire of St Leonard’s-in-the-fields Church over the road on the left and Kinnoull Hill in the background.

The South Inch is particularly well used by parents and young children who enjoy visiting its rather splendid playground and duck pond.

Each spring the South Inch has a wonderful display of daffodils. They’re mostly past their best now, but there were still some looking beautiful in the sunshine yesterday.

South Inch daffs

As I walked past the duck pond I observed not only ducks in attendance, but a pair of swans on a nest. I wasn’t able to take a picture of them but you can perhaps imagine them skulking in the pale patch of tall reeds by the path to the left of the pond in the picture below.

duck pond with reeds

It was the warmest day of the year so far in parts of Wales yesterday, with the temperature reaching 20°C. I don’t know how warm it was in Perth but it was certainly a wonderful treat to feel the warmth of the sun beaming down from a blue sky.

14 Comments

  1. I was walking past here yesterday, Lorna! Lovely photos. Yes, the daffs are past their best but still brilliant. The first leaves are just coming out on the trees. We are so enjoying this warm weather! Although I am ignoring the talk about snow (can’t be possible!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jo. I hate to say it but there have been some flakes of snow falling here this morning. Happily, the sun is also out and has melted them immediately, but it’s jolly cold outside.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful photos Lorna, of a very sunny and warm Perth. While I was up on Falkland Hill on Wednesday, looking north I could see the snow capped hills up in your neck of the woods, and from what Jo has just said, you may be getting some more snow this weekend – we are having some crazy weather at the moment, winter just keeps on hanging on!!
    Thank you for translating the word ‘Inch’, it now makes sense as to why there are so many hamlets in Scotland called North or South Inch 🙂 Oddly enough though, I’m not sure if I have ever heard of a East or West Inch?

    Like

    1. Thanks, Andy. I bet you had a wonderful view from Falkland Hill. Thankfully there’s no snow lying where I am but it is on the mountain tops, as you say. A nice long spell of warm weather would be very welcome. Right enough, I don’t think I’ve ever come across an East or West Inch either.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The views from the tops of the Lomond Hills never cease to amaze me Lorna 🙂 A spell of a week of warm weather would be good at the moment, we had a couple of snow flurries earlier this morning, and I see the forecast is for similar weather over the next few days 😦
        That’s interesting that you haven’t heard of East or West Inch’s either, I wonder why? Maybe something to do with the most productive meadows maybe all south facing, and for some reason hamlets were built mainly either to the north or south of them………..I think I’m just clutching at straws here! Lol!! 🙂

        Like

    1. It was lovely and I think you’re right, the swans have chosen a fine spot. I’m envious of the 20C, too, especially today when there are snowflakes falling.

      Like

  3. Lovely post. I never knew the name of this park! I thought that “inch” meant island. The neighbourhood of Whiteinch in Glasgow used to be an island in the Clyde, and isn’t there an island in the Firth of Forth called Inchcolm? Perhaps it means both meadow and island… Anyway thanks for the lovely photos. The weather has been wonderful indeed.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Christine. As soon as I read your comment I thought ‘oops, I’ve made a blooper’, but I checked my mum’s Gaelic dictionary and you’re quite right that ‘innis’ does mean both island and meadow, or pasture. It gives ‘island’ as the first meaning, so perhaps that’s the most common use of the word. As you say, there are plenty of examples.

      Like

Have your say

