One twisted sock

I don’t know why this happens, but very often when I’m wearing a pair of socks the one on my right foot gradually twists round so that the heel works its way up the inside of my foot. It sometimes happens on the left foot, too, but is more often confined to the right.

I can’t be entirely sure about this, but I think I’m right in saying that the twisting always works in a clockwise manner, regardless of which foot is involved. On the right foot the heel of the sock comes up the inside of the foot and on the left the heel comes up the outside.

It was particularly noticeable this morning because I’m wearing socks with silver threaded stripes that are restricted to the top of the socks, as can be seen in the photograph below.

one twisted sock
Sock on right foot twisting itself over so that the heel comes up the inside of the foot.

I have two questions about this:

  1. Why do socks twist themselves round like this?
  2. Why, in my case, does this often only occur with the right foot?

If you have any ideas/answers to this conundrum I would be most grateful if you left them in the comments box.

14 Comments

  1. I have never experienced this problem!! Maybe it is the way you walk. Just an uneducated guess. There are many worse things, like how does the washing machine eat socks or why doesn´t my husband´s socks know where the laundry hamper is. A chuckle for today!!

    Like

    1. I’m glad you don’t suffer from this (albeit minor) sock problem. As for socks disappearing in the laundry, that must be one of civilisation’s greatest mysteries. Where do all the lost socks go? I really don’t know.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Off-topic, I like the colour of your corduroy pants! I have a similar sock issue. But mine always come off the ends of my feet. Some socks are worse for it that others. I have a cream chenille pair that I always end up kicking off an hour or so after I put them on, because they clearly have better things to be doing somewhere else than keeping my feet warm where I am 🙂 Maybe Darlene is right, but I tend to think it’s because socks need shoes to keep them in line 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Trish, Darlene could well be right and I have the same situation in that it happens with some socks and not others. So that’s the point of shoes, to keep socks in line? I hadn’t thought of it like that before, but it sounds plausible. I’m interested to hear that you have a socks-off-at-the-toes problem, and I think I may have experienced that myself with loose-ankled socks. Perhaps you have exceptionally dainty ankles?

      Like

      1. Yes, I’m known all around the town for my dainty ankles 🙂 NO, I think it’s just the motion of walking and the nature of not-tight-elastic fibres. It’s not all socks for me either.

        Like

    1. Nice to find a fellow sufferer. Yes, it’s strange, isn’t it, that it happens with some but not with others. I wonder if the tightness of the sock has anything to do with it, although I’m not convinced it’s that straightforward.

      Like

      1. It might also be the fabric of the sock? I have some which have a lot of cotton, but some which have no cotton and are all man made and some which are ‘baggier’ round the foot. Is it older socks maybe that have lost a little of their stretch? Perhaps some kind of research will need to be done – as you did with the Rich Teas!

        Like

  3. It could be to do with spring migration, Lorna, the time when all socks feel as if they must be on the move. Yours may be about to head off north somewhere, perhaps to the Arctic, where they will breed and then bring back lots of babies for you in the autumn. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have similar problem. But it’s restricted to when I sit at the desk, shoeless though obviously not sockless. I think it’s the carpet kissing the sock and not wanting to let it go. See, I tend to sit with knees together, feet spread wide. Thus the inside of my feet laze on the floor, making amorous contact. Maybe. 🙂

    Like

Have your say

